Pakistan’s Test Squad Announced for Australia Tour 2023

Chief selector Wahab Riaz has revealed the 18-member Pakistan Test squad for the upcoming tour to Australia, featuring three challenging matches scheduled from December 14, 2023, to January 7, 2024. This marks Wahab Riaz’s first assignment since assuming the role of the chief selector of the national men’s selection committee last week.

Notably, Shan Masood will captain the side in his debut as Test captain, having taken over from Babar Azam for the ICC World Test Championship 2023-25 cycle. The squad sees the inclusion of exciting young talents, including left-handed opening batter Saim Ayub and right-arm fast bowler Khurram Shahzad, both earning their maiden Test call-ups.

Saim Ayub’s inclusion is attributed to his exceptional performance in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2023-24, where he scored 553 runs in four matches for Karachi Whites, including three centuries, showcasing his prowess with the bat. Khurram Shahzad, the highest wicket-taker of the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2023-24, impressed with 36 wickets at an average of 20.31 and continued his success in the recently concluded Pakistan Cup.

The return of pace bowling all-rounder Faheem Ashraf, who last appeared in Tests during England’s tour of Pakistan in late 2022, adds experience to the squad. Additionally, left-arm pacer Mir Hamza and right-arm pacer Mohammad Wasim Jnr, both of whom were part of Pakistan’s squad during New Zealand’s tour of Pakistan, make their way back into the Test team.

Reflecting on the squad, Chief selector Wahab Riaz stated, “The squad has been assembled keeping in mind the challenging Australian conditions. We have added more pace bowling resources to ensure flexibility in team combinations in all three Test matches.”

The squad is set to assemble in Rawalpindi on November 22 for a training camp scheduled to run from November 23 to 28 at Pindi Cricket Stadium. The team is expected to depart on November 30 from Lahore. Noteworthy players invited to feature in the training camp include Arshad Iqbal, Kashif Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usama Mir, and Usman Qadir.

Pakistan squad for Australia Tests

Shan Masood (captain), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel and Shaheen Shah Afridi.

Pakistan Tour of Australia 2023

The full schedule for the Australia Tests is as follows:

  1. 1st Test – Perth, 14-18 December 2023
  2. 2nd Test – Melbourne, 26-30 December 2023
  3. 3rd Test – Sydney, 3-7 January 2024

The upcoming series holds significant importance for Pakistan, who are keen to continue their positive momentum from their earlier success in Sri Lanka in the ICC World Test Championship 2023-25. As the team gears up for the challenges Down Under, cricket enthusiasts eagerly await the showdown in Australia.

Spread the love

Leave a Comment

Intstagram feed

Follow us on facebook

Trendinginsocial extends a warm welcome to all our visitors, old and new. If you’re in search of the latest trending news and updates, you’ve arrived at the perfect destination. 

Here’s to Pakistan’s top entertainment portal –!

Edtior's Picks

Latest Articles

Copyright© 2024 . All Rights Reserved