Shahid Afridi Named ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Ambassador

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced Pakistan’s legendary all-rounder Shahid Afridi as the latest ambassador for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, set to begin on June 1 in the USA and West Indies.

Afridi, a veteran of six T20 World Cups, two of which he captained, played a pivotal role in Pakistan’s 2009 T20 World Cup victory, earning the Player of the Match title in the final at Lord’s. He will participate in various promotional activities and provide expert insights through guest columns, according to an ICC press release.

Expressing his enthusiasm, Afridi said, “The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is an event that is very close to my heart. From being Player of the Tournament in the inaugural edition to lifting the trophy in 2009, some of my favorite career highlights have come from competing on this stage. T20 World Cups have gone from strength to strength in recent years, and I’m thrilled to be part of this edition, where we will see more teams, more matches, and even more drama than ever before.”

Afridi also highlighted his excitement for the highly anticipated India vs. Pakistan match on June 9, describing it as one of the greatest rivalries in sport. He noted that New York will be a fitting stage for this thrilling encounter between the two teams.

Claire Furlong, ICC General Manager of Marketing and Communications, praised Afridi’s inclusion in the ambassador lineup, saying, “Shahid competed in six ICC Men’s T20 World Cups, two of which as captain, and delivered a Player of the Match performance when winning the trophy in 2009, so who better to join our all-star Ambassador team? He’s a fan favorite around the world and, alongside Yuvraj Singh, Chris Gayle, and eight-time Olympic gold-medallist Usain Bolt, will be bringing fans closer to the event ahead of what is set to be the biggest T20 World Cup ever.”

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will be held from June 1 to 29, with co-hosts USA facing Canada in the opening fixture at Grand Prairie Stadium in Texas. A total of 55 matches will be played by 20 teams across nine venues, culminating in the final on June 29 in Barbados.

The historic first match at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium will be on June 3, featuring 2014 champions Sri Lanka against South Africa, with 10 teams competing across eight matches in New York.

Spread the love

Leave a Comment

Intstagram feed

Follow us on facebook

Trendinginsocial extends a warm welcome to all our visitors, old and new. If you’re in search of the latest trending news and updates, you’ve arrived at the perfect destination. 

Here’s to Pakistan’s top entertainment portal –!

Edtior's Picks

Latest Articles

Copyright© 2024 . All Rights Reserved