Pakistan Unveils Playing XI for First Test Against Australia

Pakistan Unveils Playing XI for First Test Against Australia

In anticipation of the highly awaited Benaud-Qadir Trophy series against Australia, Pakistan has officially announced its playing XI for the first test scheduled to commence on December 14 at Perth Stadium. The day before the match, cricket enthusiasts got a glimpse of the impressive trophy featuring captains from both teams.

For the initial test, Shan Masood will don the captain’s hat for the first time, leading a squad that introduces two debutants, Aamir Jamal and Khurram Shahzad, both right-arm medium-fast bowlers.

The batting lineup features familiar faces, with Imam-ul-Haq, Abdullah Shafique, Babar Azam, Saud Shakeel, and Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk) aiming to fortify Pakistan’s resilience at the crease. All-rounders Salman Ali Agha and Faheem Ashraf are expected to play crucial roles, particularly in the challenging Australian conditions.

Adding to the excitement, Shaheen Shah Afridi has been named the vice-captain for the national squad for the three-match Test series, demonstrating the cricket board’s confidence in his leadership abilities.

Team Pakistan For Australia Test Series

The complete Pakistan XI for the first test includes:

  • Shan Masood (captain)
  • Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicket-keeper)
  • Imam-ul-Haq
  • Abdullah Shafique
  • Babar Azam
  • Saud Shakeel
  • Salman Ali Agha
  • Faheem Ashraf
  • Shaheen Shah Afridi
  • Aamir Jamal
  • Khurram Shahzad

As the team gears up for the challenge Down Under, fans are eager to witness how the dynamic combination of experienced players and emerging talents will fare against the formidable Australian side.

The Benaud-Qadir Trophy series schedule is as follows:

  • First Test: December 14-18, Perth Stadium
  • Second Test: December 26-30, MCG
  • Third Test: January 3-7, SCG

Meanwhile, Australia’s squad for the first test boasts a formidable lineup, including Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitch Marsh, Lance Morris, Steve Smith, Mitch Starc, and David Warner. Cricket enthusiasts around the globe are eagerly awaiting the thrilling encounters that the series promises to deliver.

Check Also

Khawaja Nafay's Unbeaten Half-Century Propels Quetta Gladiators to Victory in PSL 2024

Khawaja Nafay’s Unbeaten Half-Century Propels Quetta Gladiators to Victory in PSL 2024

Quetta Gladiators’ batter Khawaja Nafay etched his name in the history books of the Pakistan …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *