Breaking News
Home » Trending In Sports & Health » Pakistan need to win just one match to retain top position in the T20I rankings
Image Source: ICC Official

Pakistan need to win just one match to retain top position in the T20I rankings

Australia have a chance to overhaul Pakistan and attain top position in the MRF Tyres ICC T20I Team Rankings for the first time when the two face off in a three-match series in the United Arab Emirates.

⦁ Australia will overtake Pakistan with a 3-0 series sweep, will go past India to second position with a series win

⦁ Pakistan need to win just one match to retain top position in the T20I rankings

⦁ Finch, Fakhar, Shadab and Maxwell among leading players of the shortest format to be seen in the series

Australia have a chance to attain top position in the MRF Tyres ICC T20I Team Rankings for the first time when they take on Pakistan in a three-match series in the United Arab Emirates from Wednesday.

The mission though is not easy since only a 3-0 victory will lift the reigning 50-over world champions to become the eighth side to attain top ranking in the T20I format. England, India, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the Windies are the other sides to have been top-ranked.

Australia, who scored an easy seven-wicket win over the United Arab Emirates on Monday, are presently third with 123 points, just one point behind India, while Pakistan are perched at 132 points. A series sweep will take Australia to 130 points and bring Pakistan down to 127 points while Australia will move ahead of India to second position with a 2-1 series win.

On the other hand, Pakistan need to win just one of the three matches to remain in top place.

Series scenarios:

⦁ Pakistan win 3-0: Pakistan 136 points, Australia 118 points
⦁ Pakistan win 2-1: Pakistan133, Australia 122
⦁ Australia win 2-1: Pakistan 130, Australia 126
⦁ Australia win 3-0: Australia 130, Pakistan 127

There would also be several top-ranked players looking forward to the series with enthusiasm.

Australia captain Aaron Finch leads the list of batsmen in the MRF Tyres ICC Men’s T20I Player Rankings with Pakistan’s Fakhar Zaman aiming to bridge the 49-point gap.
Glenn Maxwell, the top ranked all-rounder, would be looking to improve his ranking among batsmen as he is currently in sixth place with 761 points, only four behind Babar Azam of the opposing side.

In the bowlers’ list, Pakistan leg-spinner Shadab Khan gets a chance to bridge the gap to Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan, who is the top-ranked bowler. Andrew Tye also has a chance to move up from his current sixth position.

In between, Sri Lanka and England will play a one-off T20I which could see England lose one position with a defeat. They will lose four points and go down to 113 points and fifth position in such a scenario even as Sri Lanka will gain two points but remain ninth. On the other hand, there will be no change in positions with an England win, England going up to 117 points and Sri Lanka slipping to 87 points.

Upcoming matches:

Pakistan v Australia:

24 October – 1st T20I, Abu Dhabi
26 October – 2nd T20I, Dubai
28 October – 3rd T20I, Dubai

Sri Lanka v England:

27 October – Only T20I, Colombo

MRF Tyres ICC T20I Team Rankings (as of 23 October): 

3Australia 123123
5New Zealand116
6South Africa114
9Sri Lanka88
15Hong Kong42

Nepal have 26 rating points but need to play one more match before being ranked

(Developed by David Kendix)

MRF Tyres ICC T20I Player Rankings (as of 23 October):

Batsmen (top 20)

RankPlayerTeamPtsAvgeS/RHighest Rating
1Aaron FinchAus89145.6162900 v Zim at Harare 2018
2Fakhar ZamanPak842!30.76144842 v Aus at Harare 2018
3Lokesh RahulInd81249.71155854 v Eng at Old Trafford 2018
4Colin MunroNZ80133.51164805 v Pak at Wellington 2018
5Babar AzamPak76553127881 v Win at Karachi 2018
6Glenn MaxwellAus76132.94163801 v NZ at Auckland 2018
7Martin GuptillNZ74634.4133792 v SA at Hamilton 2012
8Alex HalesEng71032.67136866 v Ind at Edgbaston 2014
9D’Arcy ShortAus690*!41.88132690 v Pak at Harare 2018
10Rohit SharmaInd67832.59137681 v Ban at Mirpur 2016
11=Evin LewisWin671*33.06157780 v Eng at Durham 2017
Virat KohliInd67148.88136897 v Eng at Edgbaston 2014
13M. ShahzadAfg64731.22135706 v Ire at Greater Noida 2017
14Jason RoyEng641!21.74142641 v Ind at Bristol 2018
15Kane WilliamsonNZ63431.33121760 v Ban at Napier 2017
16Jos ButtlerEng614!27.1138614 v Ind at Bristol 2018
17Hashim AmlaSA60233.6132682 v Ban at Potchefstroom 2017
18H. MasakadzaZim59927.07117698 v Ban at Khulna 2016
19Eoin MorganEng59628.71132872 v Ind at Old Trafford 2011
20Joe RootEng59535.77129750 v Win at Kolkata 2016

Bowlers (top 20)

RankPlayerTeamPtsAvgeEcoHighest Rating
1Rashid KhanAfg79312.46.01816 v Ban at Dehradun 2018
2Shadab KhanPak723186.72769 v Sco at Edinburgh 2018
3Ish SodhiNZ70019.337.43739 v Pak at Wellington 2018
4Y. ChahalInd68518.977.85706 v Ban at Colombo (RPS) 2018
5Mitchell SantnerNZ66521.377.14731 v Pak at Wellington 2018
6Andrew TyeAus658!20.898.7658 v Pak at Harare 2018
7Samuel BadreeWin65521.076.17855 v Pak at Mirpur 2014
8Imran TahirSA65314.956.77795 v NZ at Auckland 2017
9Adil RashidEng63928.827.68640 v Ind at Cardiff 2018
10Shakib Al HasanBan63321.066.74672 v Pak at Mirpur 2014
11Mohammad NabiAfg63024.257.13638 v Ban at Dehradun 2018
12Liam PlunkettEng62725.047.81643 v Ind at Cardiff 2018
13Mohammad AmirPak60919.986.83700 v Aus at Edgbaston 2010
14David WilleyEng60724.678.44615 v Ind at Cardiff 2018
15Trent BoultNZ59921.188.53622 v Aus at Sydney 2018
16=Chris JordanEng59828.718.82628 v Ind at Nagpur 2017
M. RahmanBan59817.447.38695 v SL at Colombo (RPS) 2017
18Billy StanlakeAus570*!23.438.33570 v Pak at Harare 2018
19Mark WattSco56826.367.53573 v Pak at Edinburgh 2018
20=Jasprit BumrahInd56619.936.79764 v Eng at Bengaluru 2017

All-rounders (top five)

RankPlayerTeamPtsHighest Rating
1Glenn MaxwellAus366396 v Eng at Melbourne 2018
2Mohammad NabiAfg313323 v Ban at Dehradun 2018
3Shakib Al HasanBan309408 v Pak at Mirpur 2015
4JP DuminySA225276 v Ban at Mirpur 2015
5Marlon SamuelsWin222321 v SL at Mirpur 2014


* indicates provisional rating
! indicates best rating


Check Also

Karachi Kings unveil their official Anthem for PSL4 sung by Shehzad Roy

--> The wait is over now as the most followed franchise of the Pakistan Super …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *