Multan Sultans record their 9th victory in PSL 7

Points table toppers Multan Sultans recorded their 9th victory out of 10 matches they played so far in the PSL 7 after beating Islamabad United, which reached the playoffs despite beaten by Sultans in the match here  at the Gaddafi Stadium on Sunday night before a lively crowd. 

(Also Check – Lahore Qalandars bag their 6th win in PSL 7 )

Chasing the target of 106 runs, Multan Sultans couldn’t start well and lost their early wickets cheaply. Sohaib Maqsood was the first wicket of Islamabad United bowlers when Liam Dawson took his wicket at his personal score of 4 runs. Aamir Azmat was the second batter of United, who gifted his wicket at an individual score of 4 runs. 

Khushdil Shah also lost his wicket cheaply while score just 2 runs. Tim David was the only Sultans’ batter who reached the double figures with 17 runs. Only captain Muhammad Rizwan batted with great responsibility and scored fighting  unbeaten 51 runs off 42 balls with the help of 2 fours and 1 six. 

Half century maker Rizwan was ably supported by David Willey, who also played a key role in Sultans win with a classic contribution of 32-ball 28 runs that included 1 four and 1 six. For Islamabad United, Liam Dawson clinched 3 wickets for 16 and Zahid Mahmood 1 wicket for 20. 

Earlier, Islamabad United couldn’t start the match well as their batters couldn’t match the pace and venom of Multan Sultans bowlers and gifted their wickets cheaply. Only three of United could cross the double figures that included Muhammad Musa (26*), L Dawson (22) and M Nawaz (14). 

It was brilliant bowling by Multan Sultans bowlers that helped them restrict Islamabad United to a low total of 105 for 7 wickets in the allotted overs. Imran Tahir was pick of Multan Sultans bowler as he grabbed two wickets for 8 runs while Asif Afridi also bagged two wickets for 21. David Willey and Tim David also bowled well and got one wicket apiece.

Interestingly Islamabad United and Quetta Gladiators each have four wins in the event with eight points  but based on better run rate, Islamabad United have reached the playoffs.

Playing XIs:

Multan Sultans: Mohammad Rizwan (c, wk), Shan Masood, Rilee Rossouw Tim David, Khushdil Shah, Amir Azmat, Asif Afridi, Imran Tahir, David Willey, Shahnawaz Dahani, Rumman Raees

Islamabad United: Nasir Nawaz, Muhammad Huraira, Liam Dawson, Asif Ali (c), Azam Khan (wk), Danish Aziz, Zafar Gohar, Merchant de Lange, Athar Mahmood, Zahid Mahmood, Muhammad Musa.

Multan Sultans Vs Islamabad United Complete Highlights

Video Credits: PSL
Spread the love

Leave a Comment

Intstagram feed

Follow us on facebook

Trendinginsocial extends a warm welcome to all our visitors, old and new. If you’re in search of the latest trending news and updates, you’ve arrived at the perfect destination. 

Here’s to Pakistan’s top entertainment portal –!

Edtior's Picks

Latest Articles

Copyright© 2024 . All Rights Reserved